Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Scoring question--infield fly rule

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Goldsboro, NC
    Posts
    2,360

    Scoring question--infield fly rule

    So, if the infield fly rule is in effect, I assume that whoever catches the ball is credited with the putout, correct? But what happens when 2 or 3 fielder converge on the ball but none of them actually makes the catch? There's an out recorded, so someone has to be credited with a putout, but who?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,195

    Re: Scoring question--infield fly rule

    The fielder closest to the ball when it lands, in the opinion of the official scorer, gets the putout.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Goldsboro, NC
    Posts
    2,360

    Re: Scoring question--infield fly rule

    Thanks. That's pretty much what I expected, but I wanted to know for sure.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •