Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Managers?

Managers?

I'm sure this has to have been brought up before...what about having manangers for each team, and maybe even the minors. heck you could put your retired franchise player to good use in a-ball. I know techinically you're doing your own manager's job with your team, but couldn't clay set it up so terry francona lets his slumping players stay where they are, but ozzie guillen yanks them after just a week of struggles? I'm not a coder, so I don't know how to do that, but I know that I have a basketball text sim that uses coaches and their tendencies to influence who plays, who doesnt, and what happens. The team Earl Weaver manages is going to be designed to hit home runs, but the team Tom Kelly or Ron Gardenhire manages will be a small ball team. The potential for this is very high, and I'm honestly surprised its not in the game. I'm sure theres a good reason, I just haven't found it. I know your stat geeks, but managers DO have a effect on the game!

Re: Managers?

I think this'd be a cool addition. One that's been brought up a few times. But I think it is a ways away considering the overall AI manager issues.

Though, I suppose, clay could use past versions of the manager AI as different managers.

I'd rather hire a manager than fiddle with sliders.

As much as the AI managers have issues, looking at the Majors, dont those guys? I've seen all sorts of dumb pinch hitting or relieving and what not that makes some of the complaints on here (albeit worthy complaints) look like peanuts. So heck, just name the worst one AJ Hinch, and the most up to date one Joe Torre!

For the record, this is probably the one change that I'd ike to see the most.
    You insist that there is something a machine cannot do. If you will tell me precisely what it is that a machine cannot do, then I can always make a machine which will do just that! -J. von Neumann